Issues in Higher/Secondary Education
Instructor: Constance Bailey
I. FINDING BACKGROUND INFORMATION
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Public Agenda Issue Guide: Education
- Congressional Digest (REF JK1.C65) Reports pros/cons, background/arguments of legislation before Congress. Indexed in Academic Search Premier Database.
- Opposing Viewpoints Series
- Reference Shelf Series
- Taking Sides Series
II. FINDING JOURNAL/MAGAZINE ARTICLES GENERAL DATABASES:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Many articles are full-text. Updated continually. Generally, coverage is 1984 to date. Click on "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" to limit search results to research articles.
- CQ Researcher
Provides extensive backgroud information and discussion of the pros and cons of current issues of the day such as home schooling, charter schools, school violence, rising college costs, etc.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic
Provides full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world.
Contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8000 publications including newspapers from around the globe.
- CQ Public Affairs Collection
Organized into 22 main topics (including Education)with hundreds of subtopics, this collection features full-text access to descriptive articles, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
- CQ Weekly
Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Browse articles by topic: Education
SUBJECT SPECIALIZED DATABASES:
Provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
- EDUCATION FULL TEXT
Provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Educational Index. Treats education and related subjects areas such as total quality management, computers, culture, religion, athletics, psychology, curriculum, mathematics, history, philosophy, rehabilitation, and parapsychology.
III. FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES
If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the article linker button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be give the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog.
If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' Gateway page and click "Find a Specific Article or Journal" link on the left hand side of the page. Type in the name of the journal or, if you have the citation, a specific journal article. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal. MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.
If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using article linker, fill out a journal article request form. You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is calledhttps://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.html. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.
IV. FINDING BOOKS
Think of words and synonyms that describe the topic you are researching. Type keywords that describe your topic into the search box. You can use the asterisk as a truncation symbol. You can use quotation marks to search for phrases. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on one of the subject headings for that book, to retrieve similar books. Subject heading searches generally pull up more relevant hits than a keyword search.
Try a Subject Search after doing keyword search. For a Subject Search, you need to use Library of Congress subject headings.
Suggested subject headings :
- Education Secondary
- Education Higher
- Home Schooling
- College Costs
If you do not find enough books on your topic, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, UMR, and MU all at once. Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Union Catalog button. This expands your search to about 70 additional libraries in our network. Most books you find through MERLIN or MOBIUS are requestable online, just click on the "Request Item" link. Books requested through MERLIN or MOBIUS take two to three working days to arrive.
IV. WEB SITES
- U.S. Department of Education
- The World Bank: Secondary Education
- Statistical Resources on the Web: Education (University of Michigan)
- National Center for Education Statistics
V. CITATION GUIDES
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library