- Encyclopedia of Southern Culture Ref. F209.E53 1989
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History Ref. E169.1.E624 2001
- Encyclopedia of American Social History Ref. HN57.E58 1993
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century Ref. E169.1.E626 2001
- Everyday Life: American Social History Ref. HN57.E93 1998
- Literature and Its Times Ref. PN50.L574 1997
Locating 19th Century Sources
Through MERLIN, using the advanced search option limit by date include in your search s: sources include in your search s: sources and n th cent* e.g., s: sources and 19th cent* and slave* include in your search s: early works and n th cent* e.g., s: early works and 19th cent* and slave* include in your search s: personal narratives
MERLIN lists not only printed books, but also links to electronic books, and many items contained in large microfilm collections . Microforms and the equipment needed to view, print, or scan the materials are found in Special Collections .
Collections of texts online:
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries American State Papers, 1789-1838
- LION: Literature Online .
Choose "Search texts" and define the body of literature you wish to search by nationality, dates, etc
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- The Nineteenth Century in Print
Several collections of digital editions of books and periodicals.
- Making of America
A collection of 8500 books and 50,000 articles from the 19th century.
- Documenting the American South
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature, and culture.
- Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
A collection of 19th century American fiction online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
Indexes identify articles in periodicals online, in print, and on microfilm:
- 19th Century Masterfile (1802-1906)
Also known as Poole'sPlus .
The American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900)
Note that this is a work in progress. Titles not yet available online may be available as part of the American Periodicals Series microfilm set in Special Collections. This set is indexed by Early American Periodicals Index to 1850 (Special Collections, MICPT 016.05) and has a guide, American Periodicals 1741-1900 (Special Collections Ref. Z6951.H65) Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Available only in the Reference area, this database indexes 45 periodicals 1824-1900.
- C19 .
This index to many 19th century sources is available on trial until November 13, 2007.
Criticism may be published in books or as articles in journals. Use the MERLIN and MOBIUS catalogs to locate books of criticism about an author or topic. A subject search may give more control and organization, but a keyword search may find more specific items.
Finding criticism in journal articles is usually a multi-step process.
- Use databases and indexes to identify articles.
- Follow the http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://finditatmu.library.missouri.edulink to see if the journal's available electronically, in print, or to request a copy from another library. Feel free to ask a librarian for help.
The major literary databases are:
- MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures 1963-present online, 1921-1962 in print.
- ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-1999 online. You can search both databases together through LION Criticism.
Supplement searches in MLA and ABELL with searches in additional databases:
Alternative and minority publications.
- Alternative Press Index
- Index to Black Periodicals (1942--) Ref. AI3 .I552
Earlier volumes, including title changes, are in the circulating stacks.
- Women Studies Abstracts (1972--) Ref. Z7962 .W65
To locate older critical materials, use the following databases and reference tools.
- 19th Century Masterfile (1802-1906)
- The American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900)
- The Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-) Ready Ref. AI3 .R48
- International Index to Periodicals (1907-1965) Ref. AI3 .R49
- American Literary and Drama Reviews: An Index to Late 19th Century Periodicals PN256.M37 1984
- Literary Index to American Magazines 1850-1900 Ref. PS 214.W38 1996
- Literary Index to American Magazines, 1815-1865 Ref. Z6513.W44
The Literary Index indexes the many Gale literature criticism sets. These books excerpt literary criticism from all periods on individual authors.
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism ( Ref. PN761.N5)
- Literature Criticism, from 1400-1800 ( Ref. PN80.L57)
- Poetry Criticism (Ref. PN1010 .P499)
- Short Story Criticism (Ref. PN3373 .S386)
Guides to Research
- James L. Harner. Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies (Ref. PR83.H34 2002)
- Michael J. Marcuse. A Reference Guide for English Studies. (Ref. PR56.M37 1990)
- James K. Bracken. Reference Works in British and American Literature (Ref. Z2011.B74 1998)
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library