Cultural Artifacts in Historical Context
MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus, as well as the libraries at the University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla. When you enter a search, by keyword, author, etc., the computer will default to searching only the MU campus, denoted 'MU' in the pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, unless you choose a different library from that menu. By choosing 'ALL MERLIN' from the menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri System.
To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, click on the MOBIUS button found at the extreme top of the MU Libraries Gateway page. A record that you find in MERLIN or MOBIUS, provides you with citation information and a call number so that you can find the actual item in a library on this campus or request that an item is sent from one of the other libraries in the MERLIN or MOBIUS systems. Please note that items can only be borrowed from other libraries if they are unavailable from any of the libraries on the MU campus. If the item that you want is not available at MU, or through the other MERLIN libraries, or even MOBIUS, you still may request the book through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding articles: Again, from the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on Databases . Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal, magazine or newspaper articles, but citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents or kinds of information may also be included in some databases. In certain cases you will note that the fulltext of the item is available from the database, but more often than not, finding a citation is the first step of a search that will require you to search MERLIN to determine if we own the item in print.
Once you have the call number for an item that we own in print, consult one of the yellow location guides to determine on what floor in Ellis library the item of interest is held.
Locate books in Ellis Library (Location Guide)Determine which floor holds a book in Ellis Library
Use the guide below to determine which floor of Ellis holds a particular call number.
B to HE contains B, BA, BB, BC.. C, D, .. H, HA, HB, .. HE
2 East = 2nd floor of Ellis, East book stacks.
HSL = Health Sciences Library
|AC to AZ||4 East|
|B to HE||3 East|
|HF to LT||2 East|
|M to NX||4 East|
|P to PG||2A West|
|PH to PQ 2999||3 Central|
|PQ 3000 to QK||2 East|
|QL to QR||2 Central|
|QS to QZ||HSL|
|R to RZ||2 Central|
|S to SK||2 West|
|T to TX||1A West|
|U to VM||1 West|
|W to WZ||HSL|
|Z to ZA||1 West|
- Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.
- A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.
- TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases
- TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database
- Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection.
- America: History and Life
A database containing citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,00 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage is 1964 to date.
- Art Full Text
Art Index citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography.
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries.
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. It includes graphs, photographs and images .
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional
Includes indexes to congressional publications (1789-date), a bill tracking service (1989-date), and extensive fulltext, including the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the Statutes at Large (1789-present), Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present) and Committee Prints (1830-present). It also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress
LION: Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals.
- Music Index
Music Index covers more than 40 international music periodicals, listing articles dealing with every aspect of classical and popular music.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Provides 80,000 pages of fulltext letters, diaries and manuscripts by 632 North American women from colonial times to 1950. The database is fulltext searchable and texts can also be browsed by author, source, year, place, personal event, or historical event.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2001) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1987) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and fulltext searching of these newspapers. Not all years have been digitized yet, so this is a growing collection.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Selected Reference and Related Sources
- American Decades
Provides information about what was going on in the United States decade by decade from 1900 to 1999. Includes information on the arts, business, fashion, politics, sports, religion, science, social trends, education and media.
- Encyclopedia of American activism, 1960 to the present
Ref JK 1764 .D53 1998
- Encyclopedia of American architecture
Ref NA 705 .P3 1995
- Encyclopedia of American business
Ref HF 1001 .E463 2004
- Encyclopedia of American civil liberties
Ref KF 4747.5 .E53 2006
- The Encyclopedia of American comics
Spec Comics PN 6725 .E64 1990
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intelllectual History
Ref E 169.1 .E624 2001
- Encyclopedia of American folk art
Ellis NK 805 .E6 2004
- Encyclopedia of American humorists
Ellis PS 430 .E53 1988
- Encyclopedia of American Social History
Ref HN 57 .E58 1993
- Encyclopedia of Asian-American literature
Ellis PS153.A84 O37 2007
- Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War
Ref UF 500 .G8 1995
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
Ref DS 557.7 .E53 1998
- Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Ref HM 291 .E625 1991
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Index to the New York Times (Mid 19th through 20th century)
SPEC REF AND Depository AI 21 .N44
- Index to The Times (Indexes The Times, 1957-1972)
SPEC REF AI 21 .T5
- Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper (Indexes The Times 1791-1938)
SPEC REF AI 21 .T5
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (Late 19th-date)
Ready Ref AI 3 .R48
- The Scribner encyclopedia of American lives. Sports figures
- The Times (London) (1789-2003)
- The United States and the First World War: An Encyclopedia
Ref D 510 .U65 1995
- World War II: The Encyclopedia of the War Years, 1941-1945
Ref D 743.5 .P57 1996
Selected Subject Headings
Einstein Albert 1879 1955
American poetry -- 20th century -- History and criticism -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Anti-communist movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Architecture, Domestic -- United States.
Arts, Modern -- 20th century.
Chrysler Building (New York, N.Y.) -- History.
Civil rights movements -- United States.
Commercial art -- History -- 20th century.
Okeeffe Georgia 1887 1986
Graphic arts -- History -- 20th century.
Hansberry Lorraine 1930 1965 Criticism And Interpretation
Hemingway Ernest 1899 1961 Criticism And Interpretation
Influenza Epidemic 1918 1919
John Paul Ii Pope 1920 2005 Travel United States
Miller Arthur 1915 2005 Criticism And Interpretation Abstracts
Music -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Popular music -- United States.
Prohibition -- United States.
Freud, Sigmund, 1856-1939.
Space Race United States History
Twentieth century --chronology
United States -- Economic conditions -- 1918-1945.
Vietnam Veterans Memorial (Washington, D.C.)
Williams Tennessee 1911 1983 Criticism And Interpretation
World War, 1914-1918
World War, 1939-1945
Wright Frank Lloyd 1867 1959 Criticism And Interpretation
The MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing is shelved behind Ellis Library's Reference Desk on the south side of the first floor. We also have a link to style manuals online .
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library