If you have a topic and you need to find journal articles written about your topic, then you will want to start by searching the databases provided by the MU Libraries. There are a number of databases that should be helpful to you in your research. A full listing of the databases we provide can be found by clicking here. Some of the databases that might prove most productive in researching educational issues are:
ERIC - indexes education journals and reports (ERIC Documents).
Education Full Text - indexes education journals and provides some full-text articles.
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES - indexes psychology journals.
Academic Search Premier - indexes current news, general interest and covers some journals from all fields. Also contains quite a bit of full-text.
Mental Measurements Yearbook Online - provides critical evaluations of over 2,000 commercial tests within education, psychology, achievement and intelligence.
CQ Researcher - is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day.
Database search tips are available to consult for help.
FINDING THE ARTICLES
Once you have identified citations for articles that pertain to your topic, you need to find either the electronic full-text of the article or the print copy in the MU Libraries.
is the electronic journals management system that we offer. It will provide you with links to the thousands of electronic journals to which the MU Libraries have access. Once you have identified a citation for an article from your search of a database, you can search
for the journal name to see if we have electronic access for that title and the date of the article. If available,
will provide you with a direct link to the electronic journal access.
If electronic access is not available, click the "Check MERLIN for paper copies" link on the
results page. This will take you to the MERLIN Library Catalog to see if we have a paper copy of the journal located in the MU Libraries. If a print copy is available, you can submit an article purchase request and have the article delivered to you.
If the MU Libraries does not have either electronic access or a print copy of the journal needed, you have two options. You can search the MOBIUS Union Catalog to see if your local academic library holds the journal or you can submit an MU Interlibrary Loan Request.
Additional instructions for finding journal articles can be found here.
REMOTE ACCESS TO ELECTRONIC RESOURCES
Accessing electronic resources (databases and electronic journals) from off-campus is relatively easy. Remote access is available to currently enrolled MU students and currently employed MU faculty and staff. Access is authenticated by the user's PawPrint (MU email username and password). If you are trying to access from a work computer (especially in a school district), you will probably experience access problems related to the firewall installed on your network. In these cases, you can try to download and install the Virtual Private Network client provided by MU. If this does not work, contact Rhonda Whithaus, Electronic Resources Coordinator, at 573-882-9164 or WhithausR@missouri.edu. Additional information on accessing our electronic resources from off-campus can be found here.