Related Research Guides by Subject
Arts & HumanitiesMU Libraries Course Research Guide: English 1000: Arguments of Definition
Instructor: Claire McQuerryReference Sources
Oxford English Dictionary Online ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oed.com
Also Known as: OEDOxford English Dictionary Online contains etymologies, definitions and usage of English worldwide, from 1150 to the present. [more]
Oxford Reference Online Premium ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/A searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas. Contains short biographical entries. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRLGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Books
Google Book Search
http://books.google.comGoogle Books contains the full text of books provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Use the Find This Book in a Library link to see if we or another nearby library owns the books you find. [more]
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries [more]
Articles
Academic Search Premier ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aphIndexes journal and some magazine articles across many academic subjects. Time periods indexed vary (1984 is earliest). Full text coverage varies by journal (earliest full text 1990). Good starting point for article research. [more]
For subject-specialized databases, or to find databases by type of article, e.g., newspaper articles, see the Databases section of the MU Libraries home page.