MU Libraries Sourcepack
Chemistry:
New Graduate Students
 Instructor:
Sheryl Tucker
TuckerS@missouri.edu 

125 Chemistry Building

Find Journal Articles

If you just need one or two articles on a chemistry topic try the following general magazine and journal article database:
  • Academic Search Premier 
    Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Updated continually. Coverage is 1984 to date.  Click on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit search results to research articles.
For more in-depth research, try searching subject related databases.

Begin at the MU Libraries' Gateway.  Click on Find a Database and then click on the subject area, Science and Technology.

Choose the subject area Chemistry.  Select one of the databases from the list and follow instructions on how to conduct a search.  Every database has a slightly different interface, but all have help pages that contain tips and/or tutorials.

Suggested databases for Chemistry:

  • Current Contents
    Current Contents provides access to more than 7,500 of the world's leading scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.  Searchable abstracts are available for most of the journal articles. Coverage is 1993 to date and the database is updated weekly so it is one of our most current databases.
  • PubMed
    The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service or CAS) contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature (1907 to date) and patents, the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances, and daily updating of current chemical information. Must download  SciFinder Scholar software before you can access database. If you want to use SciFinder Scholar from off-campus, download the VPN Software first, followed by the SciFinder Scholar Software
  • Web of Science 
    1990 to date.  Includes Science Citation Index Expanded. Indexes over 5,700 major scientific journals as well as journals in the humanities and social sciences. Besides author and topic searching, this database allows you to determine which journal articles have cited previously published research.  This is called Cited Reference searching.  
    Older years available in print as Science Citation Index  Ellis Library Reference Z 7403 .S3 (1955-1989)

Find the Full-text of Journal Articles Find It @ MU button

  • If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the Find It @ MU button button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog
  • If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter Find It @ MU button. Once in Find It @ MU button you're given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
  • MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using http://mulibraries.1cate.com/ click on the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy.

    You can also request an article without using the Find It @ MU button feature by filling out an article request form which is available from the Book and Articles Request under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries homepage.

    You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called ILL@MU. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.

Save Searches and Auto Alerts

  • Many resources have the functionality to allow you to save searches to run at a future date or set up Auto Alerts (a saved search that the provider will run whenever the database is updated and email you the results). Go to the following link for instructions for setting up alerts in specific resources: Saving Searches and Auto Alerts

Find Patents

Other Resources

Find Library Books

  • From the MU Libraries' homepage, choose the MERLIN Catalog.  Type in words describing the topic you are researching. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on that subject heading to retrieve similar items.
  • If you do not find enough books on your topic to meet your needs, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, UMR and MU all at once.
  • Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Catalog button. This expands your search to about 50 additional libraries in our network.
  • Most books you find through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog are requestable online, simply by clicking the "Request Item" link. Books requested through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog usually take about three working days to arrive.
  • You may request books not listed in the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog via Request Books & Articles under the About the Libraries section of the MU Libraries' homepage.

This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library
Librarian