BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES 4660: Plant Population BiologyInstructor: Candy Galen
217 Tucker Hall
Find Journal Articles
- Begin at the MU Libraries' Gateway. Click on Find a Database and then click on the subject area, Science and Technology.
- Choose the subject areas Biology, Natural Resources or Plant Sciences. Select one of the databases from the list and follow instructions on how to conduct a search. Every database has a slightly different interface, but all have help pages that contain tips and/or tutorials.
Suggested Databases for Plant Population Biology
AGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife. Coverage is 1970 to date. Earlier years available in print as the Bibliography of Agriculture: Ellis Library Reference Z 5073 .U572 (1942-1992)
- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and biotechnology are also included. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print:
Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37 (1926 - 1979)
BioOne provides full-text access to over 80 biological science journals published by small societies and noncommercial publishers. Titles include American Midland Naturalist, Bioscience and Biotropica.
Produced by CAB International and provides worldwide coverage of agriculture in a very broad sense. Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Nearly all records have English abstracts. Coverage is 1900to date.
JSTOR is a full-text database providing access to the back files of 300 scholarly journals. 29 of these titles cover botany and ecology including American Midland Naturalist, Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics, Ecological Applications, Ecology, and Journal of Ecology. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. Includes graphs, photographs, and images.
Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.
- If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog
- If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter . Once in you're given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
- Use our interlibrary loan service called ILL@MU to access articles not owned by MU Libraries. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using click on the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy.
- You can also request an article without using the feature by filling out an article request form available from the ILL@MU Logon under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries homepage.
Usually you will receive the article electronically within a few days of making your request.
Keep Track of Your References and Making Bibliographies
- Download Endnote software which is free for MU students.
- Endnote instructions and guides.
- Zotero--a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources
Save Searches and Auto Alerts
- Many databases allow you to save searches to run at a future date or set up Auto Alerts (a saved search that will be run whenever the database is updated with the results emailed to you). Go to the following link for instructions for setting up alerts in specific databases: Saving Searches and Auto Alerts
- You can set up alerts in MERLIN to be notified when new books arrive in a particular subject area: MERLIN Alerts or you can subscribe to New Book RSS Feeds
Find Library Books
- From the MU Libraries' homepage, choose the MERLIN Catalog. Type in words describing the topic you are researching. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on that subject heading to retrieve similar items.
- If you do not find enough books on your topic to meet your needs, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, MST and MU all at once.
- Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Catalog button. This expands your search to about 50 additional libraries in our network.
- Most books you find through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog are requestable online simply by clicking the "Request Item" link. Books requested through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog usually take about three working days to arrive.
- You may request books not listed in the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog via Request Items-ILL@MU under the About the Libraries section of the MU Libraries' homepage.
- Directory of Missouri Natural Areas
This Missouri Department of Conservation site gives locations and brief descriptions of Missouri natural areas.
- Flora of Missouri
Missouri Botanical Gardens database on Missouri vascular plants.
- Missouri Department of Conservation Nature Page
- Missouri Fish and Wildlife Information System MOFWIS
Database containing information about the habitat, status and distribution of selected Missouri plants as well as vertebrate species and aquatic molluscs. Maintained by the Missouri Department of Conservation.
- Missouri Plants
Photographs and descriptions of the flowering and non-flowering plants in Missouri.