Subject Librarians
Janice Dysart
(573) 882-1828
DysartJ@missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Architectural Studies
Atmospheric Science
Biochemistry
Biology
Chemistry
Human Development and Family Studies
Nutrition
Personal Financial Management
Physics
MU Libraries Course Research Guide: Biological Sciences/FW2002
Instructor: Candance Galen, Charlie Nilon Biological Sciences and Fisheries & WildlifeBackground Information
CQ Researcher ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcherProvides extensive background information and discussion of the pros and cons of current issues of the day such as climate change and ecotourism. [more]
Journal Articles
Academic Search Premier ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aphBroad database indexing recent (1984 and later) scholarly journals and some magazines across many subject areas. [more]
Biological Abstracts ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=n&D=b9azBiological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]
BioOne ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.bioone.orgprovides full-text access to over 80 bioscience journals published by small societies and noncommercial publishers. [more]
CABDirect ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.cabdirect.org/advancedsearch.html
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABIIndexes journals in forestry, nutrition, recreation, tourism and leisure. [more]
Education Full Text ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml?prod=EDUFTIndex to education journals. [more]
ERIC ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=eric-set-cERIC provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date. [more]
Fish and Fisheries Worldwide ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ffwFish and Fisheries Worldwide provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. [more]
GEOBASE ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100155003;dbname=GEOBASE;done=referer;FSIPThis database indexes journals, books conference proceedings, and reports covering geography, geology and ecology. Coverage is 1980 to date. [more]
JSTOR ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.orgA full-text database providing access to the back files of many scholarly journals including 29 titles in botany and ecology such as American Midland Naturalist, Ecology and Journal of Ecology. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the presents. [more]
LegalTrac ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_lawLegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. [more]
PubMed ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstractThe National Library of Medicine's free article search engine to medical literature. [more]
Scopus ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.comIndexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly. [more]
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=fzhWildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. Select Advanced Search to search by institution such as the University of Missouri. [more]
Local/State Information
Directory of Missouri Natural Areas
http://www.mdc.mo.gov/areas/natareas/
GoColumbiaMO
http://www.gocolumbiamo.com/Official website of the city of Columbia, Missouri.
LexisNexis Academic ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademicOffers access to the full text of current and back issues of major newspapers and various news sources,including TV and radio transcripts and blogs. Includes the Maneater, Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Also provides full-text of legal materials like court cases, legislation and statutes. [more]
Missouri Department of Conservation
http://www.mdc.mo.gov
Missouri Fish and Wildlife Information System (MoFWIS)
http://mdc4.mdc.mo.gov/applications/mofwis/mofwis_search1.aspxProvides information about more than 900 Missouri species. Searchable by common name, scientific name, county, primary habitat and status. Maintained by the Missouri Department of Conservation.
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=AWNBThis beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content. Includes the Columbia Daily Tribune, Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]
[Trial resource please evaluate here]
Other Resources
EGW: Environmental Working Group
http://www.ewg.org/Public interest group that uses public information to protect the public health and the environment.
Encyclopedia of the Earth
http://www.eoearth.org/Articles written by scholars, professionals, educators and experts about the Earth, it's natural environments and their interaction with society.
EnviroFacts Data Warehouse
http://www.epa.gov/enviro/index.htmlU.S. EPA environmental data.
Friends of the Earth
http://www.foe.org/Tax-exempt environmental advocacy organization.
GLOBE Program
http://www.globe.gov/?lang=en&nav=1Global Learning and observations to Benefit the Environment, a network of students, teachers and scientists working to study and understand the environment. Founded by Al Gore.
USDA Nutrient Database SR 16-1
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/search/Contains the nutrient data, including vitamin, mineral, and fatty acid content of over 6500 food items. From the U.S. Department of Agriculture. [more]
Statistics
FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov/Includes statistical information on a wide variety of areas provided by more that 70 agencies of the US federal government. [more]
Google UncleSam
http://www.google.com/unclesamSearches state, federal and U.S. military websites.
Lexis Nexis Statistical ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexis-nexis.com/statunivLexis Nexis Statistical is a comprehensive finding aid for statistical data on a wide variety of topics. [more]
State Legislation
Missouri House of Representatives Subject Index
http://www.house.mo.gov/content.aspx?info=/bills091/sbjndx/SBJLST.HTMGuide to Missouri bills by subject.
Missouri Senate Subject Index
http://www.senate.mo.gov/07info/BTS_Web/Keywords.aspx?SessionType=RSubject guide to Missouri Senate bills.
Federal Legislation
Lexis Nexis Congressional ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexis-nexis.com/congcompLexis Nexis Congressional provides an index to congressional publications, an extensive bill tracking service, legislative histories, floor votes, and public laws. [more]
Thomas' advanced Bill Summary and Status search
http://thomas.loc.gov/bss/d110query.htmlProvides information about U.S. bills and amendments.
Voting Records
Project Vote Smart
http://www.votesmart.org/Voting records of elected state and federal officials.