MU Libraries Sourcepack

Bio2002/FW2002: Connecting Environmental Biology and Local Communities

Instructors: Candace Galen & Charlie Nilon

Find Background Information

  • CQ Researcher
    Provides extensive background information and discussion of the pros and cons of current issues of the day such as climate change and ecotourism.

Find Journal Articles

Search one of the following databases:

  • Academic Search Premier
    Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Updated continually. Coverage is 1984 to date.  Click on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit search results to research articles.
  • Biological Abstracts
    Biological Abstracts is one of the most comprehensive databases in the life sciences, indexing over 6,500 journals worldwide. Coverage is 1980 to date.
  • CABDirect
    Iincludes plant and animal sciences, forestry, nutrition, veterinary medicine, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Coverage is 1900 to date.
  • Communication Abstracts
    Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. It covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books. 1977 to date.
  • Geobase
    Indexes journals, books conference proceedings, and reports covering geography, geology and ecology.
  • Legal Trac
    Indexes more than 800 legal publications and specially selected law-related articles from more than 1,000 business and general interest publications. 1980-date.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    Offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
  • Philosopher's Index
    Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals of philosophy and related fields. covers environmental ethics. 1940-date.
  • PubMed
    The National Library of Medicine free search engine
  • Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
    Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. 1935-date. Select Advanced Search mode to conduct an institution search.
  • Web of Science
    1990 to date.  Includes Science Citation Index Expanded. Indexes over 5,700 major scientific journals as well as journals in the humanities and social sciences. Besides author and topic searching, this database allows you to determine which journal articles have cited previously published research.  This is called Cited Reference searching. To search by institution, first search by topic. Then analyze the results by institution and view the articles from one of the institutions listed.

Find the Full-text of Journal Articles Find It @ MU button

  • If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the Find It @ MU button button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog
  • If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter Find It @ MU button. Once in Find It @ MU button you're given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
  • MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using http://mulibraries.1cate.com/ click on the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy.

    You can also request an article without using the Find It @ MU button feature by filling out an article request form which is available from the Book and Articles Request under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries homepage.

    You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called ILL@MU. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.

Find Books

  • From the MU Libraries' homepage, choose the MERLIN Catalog. Type in words describing the topic you are researching. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on that subject heading to retrieve similar items.
  • If you do not find enough books on your topic to meet your needs, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, UMR and MU all at once.
  • Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Catalog button. This expands your search to about 50 additional libraries in our network.
  • Most books you find through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog are requestable online, simply by clicking the "Request Item" link. Books requested through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog usually take about three working days to arrive.

Find Statistics

  • Fedstats Statistics from the federal government.
  • LexisNexis Statistical Covers statistics from federal and state government and also from international and private sources.

Find Local Issues


Find Federal Legislation

  • LexisNexis Congressional
    • Choose Advanced Search
    • Click on the "Index Terms" hotlink to find official subject headings.
    • First choose "Natural Resources and Science" and either choose that as a broad heading or drill down to find more specific topics.
    • Set other limiters as desired, for example, limit your search to House and Senate bills and set a date range.
  • Thomas' advanced search on Bill Summaries and Status

Find State Legislation


Find Voting Records of Elected State and Federal Officials


Other Resources

  • Encyclopedia of the Earth
    Articles written by scholars, professionals, educators and experts about the Earth, it's natural environments and their interaction with society.
  • GLOBE: Home
    Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment, a network of students, teachers, and scientists working to study and understand the environment. Founded by Al Gore

This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library