MU Libraries Course Research Guide: Anthropology 2570: Parents and Offspring
Instructor: Gregory BlomquistGeneral
Finding Copies of Items Listed in a Bibliography
- Italicized Title - this is the title of either a book or a journal
- Non-italicized Title (may be in quotation marks) - this is the title of an article or book chapter
- In - a clue that you're looking at a book chapter
- 100(1), 125-132 - lots of numbers = journal article. Volume(number), pages
See Books tab for how to find a particular book in the MU Libraries, or have it sent here from elsewhere
See Articles tab for how to find a particular article, either in print or online
Searching Tips
Sometimes a simple keyword search is enough BUT...
- when searching for peoples, try both names of tribes/cultures and geographical names
- wherever you are searching, take a look at the advanced search.
- get MORE results by using the asterisk: child* (finds child, children, childhood...)
- narrow down results by combining terms using OR, or in an "any" box
- narrow down results by specifying that a word must be in a title or subject field
Books
Finding Copies of a Book When You Know Its Title, Author etc.From the MU Libraries home page, follow the link in the left sidebar to Find a Specific Book. Enter the information you have into the form. You will be searching our library's catalog (MERLIN), but if the book isn't found available there, the search will be passed on to a larger group of libraries (MOBIUS). If the book isn't owned by any Missouri library, you'll be prompted to request it via Interlibrary Loan by following one more link.
Finding Books on a Topic
MERLIN Library Catalog ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/![]()
Find books owned by the MU Libraries here. Try combining your country/culture name with other keywords using AND, for example: bali and child* [more]
Articles
Finding articles listed in a bibliographyTo check for either online or print copies owned by the MU Libraries, start at http://mulibraries.missouri.edu. Follow the link in the left sidebar to Find a Specific Article or Journal. Enter the journal title (NOT the title of the article), the volume, issue, first page, and year into the form. This will search MU Libraries holdings. You may be sent straight to the article if we own it, or you may be prompted to pass the search to the MERLIN catalog to find a print copy. To watch this process in action, see this video.
Academic Search Complete ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h![]()
Broad database indexing recent (1984 and later) scholarly journals and some magazines across many subject areas. [more]
AnthroSource ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.anthrosource.net![]()
AnthroSource covers current issues for 15 key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Back issues of all AAA journals. [more]
JSTOR ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org![]()
Searches digitized versions of high-quality scholarly journals on many subjects. Full-text coverage extends from the first issue to about five years ago for most journals. [more]
Project Muse ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html![]()
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
Other Resources
Human Relations Area File ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ehrafWorldCultures.yale.edu![]()
Contains organized anthropological descriptions of cultures, field reports. None of your assigned cultures is treated explicitly here, but you may have some luck finding cultures in the same country. [more]
Citing Sources
Your instructor has already put the AAA style guide in course your Blackboard page, but in case you can't find it, here it is.
How-To Videos
Quick Video: I Have a Citation...Find Me the Article! ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/showmehow/videos/findcitation/finditatmucitation.htm![]()
Take a reference to an article from a bibliography, and check whether MU Libraries provides it online or in print. Time: 4 minutes, 7 seconds
Quick Video: Locating Books by Call Number in Ellis Library ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/showmehow/videos/locate/locate.htm![]()
I've got a call number. Now how do I find the book? Time: 1 minute, 31 seconds
Quick Video: Requesting a Book from the Depository ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/showmehow/videos/bookdepository/bookdepository.htm![]()
Activating the book-fetching gnomes of the MU Libraries Time: 1 minute, 30 seconds
Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EVAN&s_startsearch=customized![]()
Contains various written materials written from the 1600's to very early 1800's. To find documents related to babies, child rearing, etc., go to the Subjects Tab, then to Society, Manners & Customs. There are several subjects there that could be useful to you. [more]
