Related Course Research Guides
Subject Librarians
Anne Barker
(573) 882-6324
barkera@missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
English
Film Studies
German & Russian
Linguistics
Romance Languages & Literatures
Rachel Brekhus
(573) 882-7563
brekhusr@missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Anthropology
History
Philosophy
Religious Studies
MU Libraries Course Research Guide: Adapting Book to Film
Instructor: Stephanie KartalopoulosBackground Information
Gale Virtual Reference Library ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRLGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Internet Movie Database
http://www.imdb.com/
Also Known as: IMDBBasic information about films with links to published reviews and user reviews
Articles
Academic Search Premier ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aphBroad database indexing recent (1984 and later) scholarly journals and some magazines across many subject areas. [more]
FIAF ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=n&D=iitp,bfmp,idft,trfa,iifp,lopiFIAF indexes the film and television literature from 300 periodicals. [more]
Film Literature Index
http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/advancedSearch.jspFLI indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. [more]
LexisNexis Academic ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademicNewspaper articles and TV transcripts - late 20th Century to present [more]
MLA International Bibliography ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=mzhMLA indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. [more]
Film Reviews
Movie Review Query Engine
http://www.mrqe.com/
Also Known as: MRQEMRQE collects reviews, news, interviews, movie blogs, and other material associated with specific movies.
New York Times Movie Reviews
http://movies.nytimes.com/ref/movies/reviews/
Also Known as: NTY Movie ReviewsSearch this free archive of movie reviews from 1960 to the present, including a selection of earlier reviews back to 1929.
Books
Use Google Book Search to find books that contain something about a narrow topic, e.g., "ghost world" adaptationUse the MERLIN catalog to find entire books on a broader topic, e.g., film adaptations, or for biographies of individuals, or particular books you already know about.
Google Book Search
http://books.google.comGoogle Books contains the full text of books provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries [more]
Videos
Finding DVDs in MERLIN
1. Use the Advanced search.
2. Type “feature films” and choose “Subject” from the drop down box.
3. Select “MU Ellis Library” from the Specific Library Location drop down box.
4. Then click on the first item in the list. You will see a listing of all DVDs in Ellis. Check the location of the item; many DVDs are at the Law Library and cannot be checked out unless you are a law student.
Other locations for DVDs
1. Daniel Boone Regional Library
2. 9th Street Video 10 Hitt Street, Columbia MO • 573-875-4112
3. Blockbuster Video (573) 442-7180 3910 Peachtree Drive, Columbia, MO 65203
4. Blockbuster Video (573) 886-9917 3305A Clark Lane, Columbia, MO 65202
5. Movie Gallery 2101 W Broadway # M, Columbia, MO - (573) 445-5466
6. Movie Gallery 503 E Nifong Blvd # E, Columbia, MO - (573) 443-8753
7. Hollywood Video 2703 E Broadway # 236, Columbia, MO - (573) 449-9435
Citing Sources
If you are using Word 2007, you can use the References tab to create a bibliography in MLA style by filling in blanks for each part of your citation (author, title, etc.).
EasyBib
http://www.easybib.com/Free bibliography maker for MLA, APA and Chicago citation styles
Zotero
http://www.zotero.org/Free, easy-to-use Firefox downloadable software that collects, organizes, manages, stores, and outputs citations in various formats.

