MU Libraries Course Research Guide: Theatre: Black performers
Books and E-BooksThe African American National Biography and American Theatre Companies are books in Ellis. The other books are online. The African American National Biography is superior to the other sources for biography. It has excellent bibliographies at the end of each entry that can help you find more resources and is more than worth the effort it takes to use it in the library.Catalogs
African Amnerican National Biography
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b6220955~S1&searchscope=18 volume set. Scholarly, authoritative. Articles have bibliographies.
American Theatre Companies
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b1927208~S1&searchscope=0Three volumes cover period from 1749 - 1986. Search by company name or state.
African American Almanac ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787691400&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
Oxford Companion to American Theatre ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t149&subject=s18
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t177&subject=s18
Search suggestions for the Merlin Catalog (link below):Journal ArticlesLC Subject: african american actors
LC Subject: african americans in the performing arts
LC Subject: the name of the person i.e. aldridge, ira
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries [more]
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ibhInternational Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full-text for over 140 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, etc. [more]
Cumulated Dramatic Index 1909-1949
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b1651549~S1&searchscope=02 volumes of more than 300,000 entries from more than 150 periodicals.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.comC19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]
American Periodical Series Online ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE0NEQ@&clientId=45247American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml?CustID=0000114818&prod=RGRReaders Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]