Related Research Guides by Subject
Arts & HumanitiesSubject Librarians
Anne Barker
(573) 882-6324
barkera@missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
English
Film Studies
German & Russian
Linguistics
Romance Languages & Literatures
MU Libraries Course Research Guide: English 4310/7310: 19th Century American Women Poets
Instructor: Alex Socarides19th Century Sources
Use these resources to locate poetry written during the 19th century, in a variety of contexts. You can also use these to find biographical information about the authors, background on publishers and periodicals, and information on social context.
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/![]()
Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries [more]
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/![]()
Use the MERLIN catalog to find 19th century journals and magazines in our collection. Although we have many 19th century periodicals online, there are others that we have only in print or on microfilm. To see what we have, choose the *advanced search* and do a subject search: periodicals. You can limit by language and dates. To exclude things in microform add AND NOT microform AND NOT microfilm AND NOT microfiche. Note that many of the print journals are kept in the Depository or Annex. You will need to request specific volumes. Others are kept in Special Collections. For these you'll need to fill out a request card in Special Collections and use the materials there. [more]
Chronological Listing of Periodicals by Decade
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/specialcollections/periodical.htm![]()
Special Collections maintains a list of periodicals on microfilm in chronological order. Note that many of the American periodicals listed here are also available in full text through the American Periodical Series Online.
American Periodical Series Online ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE0NEQ@&clientId=45247![]()
American Periodical Series Online is a full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. Here you can find poetry published in magazines, essays about authors, advertisements for books. Browse by journal title to find title information on editors, circulation, history of the publication. [more]
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com![]()
Indexes British and U.S. sources (books, articles, government documents, archival sources) from the 19th Century, but only contains a little full text. The MU Libraries own much of the material indexed here in print or microfilm/fiche. [more]
Literary and Historical Index to American Magazines, 1800-1850 ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b5295550~S1&searchscope=0![]()
An index to articles by and about authors and about significant periodicals, published in American magazines 1800-1850. Very limited subject indexing.
The literary index to American magazines, 1850-1900 ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b3405463~S1&searchscope=0![]()
An index to articles by and about authors and about significant periodicals, published in American magazines 1850-1900. Very limited subject indexing.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/nwldlive![]()
North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/cwldlive/![]()
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTFBQ0QrMUFDQw@@&clientId=45247![]()
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2005) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of these newspapers. [more]
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project
http://newspapers.umsystem.edu/Archive/skins/missouri/navigator.asp?BP=OK&GZ=T&AW=1080831627453![]()
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers. [more]
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://staging.lincolnandthecivilwar.com/welcome.asp![]()
Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]
Poetess Archive
http://unixgen.muohio.edu/~poetess/index.html![]()
The Poetess Archive Database contains a bibliography of over 4,000 entries for works by and about writers, both female and male, associated with the “poetess tradition” of popular poetry written in Britain and America between 1750 and 1900.
Google Book Search
http://books.google.com![]()
Google Books contains the full text of books provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
Poetry by Women to 1900: A Bibliography of American and British Writers ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b2347843~S1&searchscope=0![]()
A bibliography of books of poetry published between 1573 and 1900.
Literature Online: Text Collection ![]()
http://lion.chadwyck.com/gotoSearchTexts.do;jsessionid=D99987337B34AEA3A50ED08900024C3A?initialise=All![]()
The text collection in LION includes standard works of English and American literature from Beowulf through the early 20th century. The search screen allows the user to define a body of literature by genre, time period, nationality, and author characteristics, and search within the defined corpus.
Biographical Information
The sources listed here are good starting places for biographical research. The 19th century sources often contain biographical information too. If you are dealing with a very obscure person, you may want to consult the experts in genealogical research in the State Historical Society of Missouri. They have specialized tools that help in tracing the less renowned.
Biography and genealogy master index ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b1029077~S1&searchscope=0![]()
"A consolidated index to more than 3,200,000 biographical sketches in over 350 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries." Updated by annual supplements and quinquenniel cumulations.
Notable American Women 1607-1950: A Biographical Dictionary ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b1435658~S1&searchscope=0![]()
"The most authoritative biographical dictionary of American women," according to James L. Harner, The Literary Research Guide, 2008. Over 2000 entries provide factual information, interpretation, and very useful lists of sources. A classified index lists occupations, interests, groups, etc.
American National Biography ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b3837833~S1&searchscope=0![]()
Also Known as: ANBA biographical dictionary of about 17,500 individuals significant to American history, from the earliest recorded European exploration to the 21st century.
Dictionary of American Biography ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b1171006~S1&searchscope=0![]()
Also Known as: DABA biogrpahical dictionary of more than 19,000 entries, the DAB provides both factual and interpretive information. Entries often provide a list of sources, including unpublished materials.
Background Information
The sources listed here give some background on the publishing of periodicals in the 19th century and some general social historical background to the period. Supplement these with searches in the standard secondary sources: the MERLIN catalog and other databases.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b4393037~S1&searchscope=0![]()
Encyclopedia of American Social History ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b2380053~S1&searchscope=0![]()
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b4393039~S1&searchscope=0![]()
Everyday Life: American Social History
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b4162432~S1&searchscope=0![]()
Women Writers in the United States: a Timeline of Literary, Cultural, and Social History ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b2871894~S1&searchscope=0![]()
American literary magazines : the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b1859312~S1&searchscope=0![]()
Profiles of periodicals with significant literary content, providing publishing history, audience, overview of content, and lists of sources.
History of American Magazines ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b1347022~S1&searchscope=0![]()
A monumental history of the development of periodicals in the United States to about 1905.
GenderWatch ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTM4M2QmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=45247![]()
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues. [more]
LION: Literature Online ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com![]()
LION: Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals. [more]
America History and Life ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl![]()
America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/![]()
Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries [more]
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/![]()
Use the MERLIN catalog to find 19th century journals and magazines in our collection. Although we have many 19th century periodicals online, there are others that we have only in print or on microfilm. To see what we have, choose the *advanced search* and do a subject search: periodicals. You can limit by language and dates. To exclude things in microform add AND NOT microform AND NOT microfilm AND NOT microfiche. Note that many of the print journals are kept in the Depository or Annex. You will need to request specific volumes. Others are kept in Special Collections. For these you'll need to fill out a request card in Special Collections and use the materials there. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRL![]()
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. It contains such useful works as American Women Writers and the Cambridge Guide to Women's Writings in English. [more]
