Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

MU Libraries Course Research Guide: English 2030: Professional Writing

Instructor: Claire Schmidt

Advertising

SRDS Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.srds.com/library
  
SRDS Online contains online editions of the following SRDS directories for advertising and marketing: Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Radio Advertising Source, TV & Cable Source, Interactive Advertising Source and Out of Home Advertising Source. [more]

Business Plans

Business Plans and Profiles Index
http://www.carnegielibrary.org/research/business/bplansindex.html
  
From the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, this lists types of small businesses along with sample business plans or profiles. The plans are either available online (and will be highlighted) or in the title indicated by italics. Note: the books may or may not be held by MU. Check availability via MERLIN at http://mulibraries.missouri.edu or ask at the Reference Desk.

Business Plans Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3439799999&q=morenetuomcolum
  
From the book: "A collection of 24 actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America. Plans are from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries, with company names and addresses changed."

Small Business Resource Center Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=SBRC
  
Small Business Resource Center covers all major areas of starting and operating a business including financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting and taxes. Access provided by MOREnet.

Demographics

American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/
  
This site will guide to to data on your community. Choose: -"Fact Sheet" for quick access to basic demographic, social and economic data on your city, town, county or state or ZIP Code. -"People" to find more popular tables on a variety of topics (age, education, income, race and more) for your area. -"Housing" to find popular tables on home values, ownership, housing characteristics and mortgage. -"Business and Government" for data on housing starts, government finances, foreign trade and more.

Legal

Case.net
https://www.courts.mo.gov/casenet/base/welcome.do
  
This is the Missouri State Courts’ automated management system. Here you’ll see names of anyone who has ever had a brush with the court system including felonies, speeding tickets, divorces, child custody, DWIs, and lawsuits. You can search for names of businesses as well as names of individuals.

CriminalSearches.com
http://www.criminalsearches.com/
  

Also Known as: Criminal Searches; Criminalsearches
Provides information on criminal charges obtained from public records.

Family Watchdog
http://familywatchdog.us/
  
National sex offender registry.

Legal Guide for Starting and Running a Small Business
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b5305721~S1&searchscope=0
  
This handbook is located in the Law Library.

Small Business Start Up Kit
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b5594472~S1&searchscope=0
  
This handbook is located in the Law Library.

Marketing

Mintel Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://academic.mintel.com
  
Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you will then be asked to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include either the "missouri.edu or mizzou.edu" domain [e.g. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @mac.co [more]

Nutrition

CABDirect Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.cabdirect.org/advancedsearch.html
  

Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI
Index to journal literature in all agriculture related disciplines including nutrition. [more]

NutritionData.com
http://www.nutritiondata.com/
  
Searchable database of nutritional information for brand name products and fast food items. The display includes nutrition facts labels.

USDA Nutrient Database SR 16-1
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/search/
  
Contains the nutrient data, including vitamin, mineral, and fatty acid content of over 6500 food items. From the U.S. Department of Agriculture. [more]

General

Business and Company Resource Center Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=BCRC
  
Includes company financial reports, market share data, product lines, company histories, and industry overviews, in addition to magazine articles from 1980-date. [more]

Business Source Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=buh
  
As the world’s largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Search for articles about a given company, industry, or country. Also includes SWOT analyses for many companies, plus market research reports for different industries. [more]

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp?xsid=S003Wvj0XNyMTZyMTApMDAqNDAvNXmm5DFHY96oYqZlNFFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFB
  
Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only. [more]

Hospitality and Tourism Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hoh
  
Hospitality and Tourism Index covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more. [more]

Small Business StartUp Guide
http://www.sba.gov/smallbusinessplanner/index.html
  
This small business guide, produced by the U.S. government, is intended to serve as a roadmap for starting a business.

Sci & Tech

Music Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=mah
  
Music Index covers more than 40 international music periodicals, listing articles dealing with every aspect of classical and popular music. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]