Sourcepack
Art Resources
I. FINDING BACKGROUND INFORMATION
- Oxford Art Online START HERE. Wonderful scholarly articles and bibliographies that link to our catalog.
II. FINDING BOOKS
From the MU Libraries' Gateway , choose the MERLIN Catalog.
Think of words and synonyms that describe the topic you are researching. Type keywords that describe your topic into the search box. You can use the asterisk as a truncation symbol. You can use quotation marks to search for phrases. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on one of the subject headings for that book, to retrieve similar books. Subject heading searches generally pull up more relevant hits than a keyword search.
Try a Subject Search after doing keyword search. For artists, a subject search will retrieve books ABOOUT the artist and his or her works.
Do an author search, last name first, to find pictures of works of art created by an artist.
II. FINDING JOURNAL/MAGAZINE ARTICLES:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Many articles are full-text. Updated continually. Generally, coverage is 1984 to date. Click on "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" to limit search results to research articles. - Bibliography of the History of Art
The best subject index to art history. - Art Full Text
Everything is NOT full text, but many articles are. Good for comtemporary art. For art before 1950's, use Bibliography of the History of Art. - JSTOR
Archive of 79 Art and Art History, and Archaeology journals in full-text. Does not have more recent volumes of journals.
- ARTStor :
Huge image and photography library in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. - Camio
About 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture - Google Images
IV. Writing about Art
- Writing About Art by Marjorie Munsterberg
Web page created by instructor at City College of New York
IV. EVALUATING WEB RESOURCES
- Critiquing Web Resources: How to Separate the Good from the Bad
- Evaluating Web Resources: a Checklist
- Quick Ways to Find Good Websites and Weed Out Bad Ones
V. CITATION GUIDES
The MLA style manual is shelved behind Ellis Library's Reference Desk on the south side of the first floor. We also have a link list to style manuals online
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library