Graduate Student Research Workshops

Monday, October 12th OR Thursday, October 15th 2009

Room 213, Electronic Classroom II, 2nd Floor, Ellis Library - (Map)


Before you can register you will need to Login with your MU PawPrint and Password.

Literature Review & Beyond: Tips & Tricks for Research
Learn some of the more sophisticated features of database searching to yield the results you want. Using a variety of databases, we'll focus on practical techniques that can save you time and effort.
  Anne Barker, Humanities Librarian; Goodie Bhullar, Library Instruction Coordinator
  • Monday October 12, 2009  -  8:30AM to 10:00AM
  • Thursday October 15, 2009  -  8:30AM to 10:00AM


Creating Bibliographies with Zotero
Zotero is a free, simple, open-source tool for organizing, managing and formatting bibliographic citations.
  Rachel Brekhus, Humanities Librarian.
  • Monday October 12, 2009  -  10:00AM to 11:00AM
  • Thursday October 15, 2009  -  10:00AM to 11:00AM


Tips on using Scopus, Google Scholar and Google Books
Citation searching and subject searching in these three powerful tools - and when to use which.
  Brenda Graves-Blevins, Science Librarian
  • Monday October 12, 2009  -  11:00AM to 12:00PM
  • Thursday October 15, 2009  -  11:00AM to 12:00PM


ARTstor: Images Without Copyright Problems
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
  Michael Muchow, Humanities Librarian; Rhonda Whithaus, Electronic Resources Coordinator
  • Monday October 12, 2009  -  12:30PM to 1:30PM
  • Thursday October 15, 2009  -  12:30PM to 1:30PM


Introducing Primary Resources from Special Collections into your Curriculum and Research
Experience the fascination of using primary sources from various rare books and special collectioins. An overview of resources (manuscripts, print, microform, etc.) from 4,000 years-old Babylonian tablets to modern periodicals on microfilm.
  Alla Barabtarlo, Head, Rare Books and Special Collections; Katie Carr, Special Collections Librarian
  • Monday October 12, 2009  -  1:30PM to 2:30PM
  • Thursday October 15, 2009  -  1:30PM to 2:30PM


Finding Socio-Economic and Demographic Statistics
Strengthen research reports, papers and grant proposals with reliable statistics. Find authoritative socio-economic and demographic data on American populations at any geographic level.
  Marie Concannon, Head, Government Documents
  • Monday October 12, 2009  -  2:30PM to 3:30PM
  • Thursday october 15, 2009  -  2:30PM to 3:30PM


Creating Bibliographies with Endnote
EndNote is a powerful program for storing citation data and producing in-text citations bibliographies in a plethora of formats. Learn how to put this tool to work for your academic writing.
  Rachel Brekhus, Humanities Librarian
  • Monday October 12, 2009   -  3:30PM to 5:00PM
  • Thursday October 15, 2009  -  3:30PM to 5:00PM



For more information contact: Goodie Bhullar by email: bhullarp@missouri.edu or call (573) 882-9163.