Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Content

Annotated Bibliography Examples

Bold: bibliographic citation
Plain: summarizing information
Italics: evaluation/comparison
Underlined: reflection*

*Depending on the purpose of the bibliography, you may or may not need to include reflective comments in written form, as part of the bibliography, but they should always be in your head.


London, Herbert. "Five Myths of the Television Age." Television Quarterly 10 (1) Spring 1982: 81-89.

Herbert London, the Dean of Journalism at New York University and author of several books and articles, explains how television contradicts five commonly believed ideas. He uses specific examples of events seen on television, such as the assassination of John Kennedy, to illustrate his points. His examples have been selected to contradict such truisms as: "seeing is believing"; "a picture is worth a thousand words"; and "satisfaction is its own reward." London uses logical arguments to support his ideas which are his personal opinion. He doesn't refer to any previous works on the topic; however, for a different point of view, one should refer to Joseph Patterson's, "Television is Truth" (The Journal of Television 45 (6) November/December 1995: 120-135). London's style and vocabulary would make the article of interest to any reader. The article clearly illustrates London's points, but does not explore their implications, leaving the reader with many unanswered questions. This work will give me some theoretical ideas that the more empirical works may support or contradict.  I may include this work in a group I'm tentatively calling "modernist responses to television."


Sewell, W. (1989). Weaving a program: Literate programming in WEB. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold.

Sewell explains the code language within these pages including certain lines of code as examples. One useful idea that Sewell uses is to explain characters and how they work in the programming of a Web Page. He also goes through and describes how to make lists and a title section. This will be very useful because all Web Pages have a title section. This author also introduces Pascal which I am not sure if I will include in my manual but after I read more about it I can decide whether this will be helpful to future users. This book will not be the basis of my manual but will add some key points, which are described above.


Morris, Joyce M.  (1959).  Reading in the primary school: An investigation into standards of reading and their association with primary school characteristics. London: Newnes, for National Foundation for Educational Research.

Report of a large-scale investigation into English children's reading standards, and their relation to conditions such as size of classes, types of organization and methods of teaching.  Based on enquiries in sixty schools in Kent and covering 8,000 children learning to read English as their mother tongue.  Notable for thoroughness of research techniques.


Franklin, P. Beyond Student Financial Aid: Issues and Options for Strengthening Support Service Programs Under Title IV of the Higher Education Act. New York: College Entrance Examination Board, 1980.

Franklin argues that student financial aid is not enough to equalize opportunity for post-secondary education; Federal Support Service Programs, Talent Search, Upward Bound, and Special Services for Disadvantaged Students (Known as the "Trio" Programs), as well as the more recent Educational Information Centers, are critical to the achievement of this goal. The heart of this publication is Chapter 3, which assesses issues and options that span the Title IV support service programs. These involve (1) level of authorization, (2) inter-program overlap and duplication, (3) inter-program integration and/ or coordination, and (4) eligibility. The final chapter contains program-by-program recommendations intended to help clarify the purpose and scope of Trio Programs and enhance their respective operations. This publication is an illuminating discussion of the policy options for the "other" provision of Title IV.


Examples adapted from:

Memorial University. (2007, October 30). How to Write Annotated Bibliographies. Retrieved January 29, 2008, from http://www.library.mun.ca/guides/howto/annotated_bibl.php#critical

The Write Place. (2000, May 25). LEO Annotated Bibliography. The Write Place, St. Cloud State University. Retrieved January 29, 2008, from http://leo.stcloudstate.edu/acadwrite/annotated.html#Longer

University of Minnesota-Crookston. (2006, October 23). UMC Library - Writing an Annotated Bibliography. UMC Library. Retrieved January 29, 2008, from http://library.umcrookston.edu/annotate.htm

UW-Madison Writing Center. (2006). Annotated Bibliographies: Content. UW-Madison Writing Center Writer's Handbook. Retrieved January 29, 2008, from http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/AnnBib_content.html