Core Databases
Database |
Description |
Full-text? |
| |
Computer science, computer engineering | full-text |
| AIAA Electronic Library | The AIAA electronic library contains more than four decades of technical aerospace information and documents. | some full-text |
| Applied Science & Engineering | Applied Science and Engineering Open Access Journals. The Open Access Digital Library provides free access to 76 databases and almost 4,000 full text, scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a variety of subjects from medicine to engineering. | full-text |
| Comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides access to more than 18,500 full-text papers from ASCE Journals (1995- ) and Proceedings (1998- ) published. | full-text | |
| ASCE CE Database | Index to ASCE publications (1980- ). No link to full-text in the ASCE Research Library. | none |
| ASM Handbook Online | Complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Does NOT include full-text for the Alloy Center. | full-text |
| ASME Digital Library TEST SITE | ASME Journals Test Site. Not proxied. Go through Scitation for Proxied access to ASME. | full-text |
| Standards for materials, products, systems, and services. Covers subject areas such as steel, petroleum, medical devices, property management, consumer products, and many more | full-text | |
| Web database for computer science. | full-text | |
Comprehensive core engineering database using the OVID platform |
none | |
| Directory of Published Proceedings Conferences, Papers - records | ||
| All subjects. Guide to almost every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. (More Info) |
none | |
| ProQuest's Current Research @ MU Full-text of MU Dissertations from 1995 to the present |
full-text | |
| DOE Data Explorer (DDE) | A tool to find scientific research data generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research, including computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia and scientific images. | |
| DSpace Institutional Repostiories Search | Search engine that searches across all repositories using the DSpace open source software | |
Over 2000 Engineering books
|
full-text | |
Energy Citations Database (1948-) |
U.S. Department of Energy. Citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Dept. of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC. |
some |
| This multidisciplinary database, provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications |
none | |
| EPA Database | National Environmental Publications Information System. | full-text |
| GEOBASE | Indexes journals, books conference proceedings, and reports covering geography, geology and ecology. Coverage is 1980 to date. | none |
| American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 2.2 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. | none | |
A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked and inter-operable with GeoRef. |
full-text
|
| GreenFILE | Free database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles. | none |
| |
IEEE and IEE journals, standards and proceedings Computer science and engineering, Electrical and electronics engineering |
full-text |
INIS (IAEA) |
INIS (International Nuclear Information System) Database. IAEA INIS is operated by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in collaboration with its Member States and co-operating international organizations. Peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology |
full-text |
| Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology | Offers links to thousands of physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science web sites, each selected and evaluated by subject specialists for quality and relevance. Search by keyword or phrase, or browse by subject area. |
Mixed |
| Computer science and engineering, Electrical and electronics engineering, Physics | none | |
| Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics. Provides a digital archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period 1868-1942 (based on the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik") | none | |
*General Science (journal list) |
full-text | |
| Knovel Books | Chemistry and Chemical Engineering books (185 titles) | full-text |
| Materials Sciences: Advanced Polymers Abstracts Aerospace & High Technology Database Aluminium Industry Abstracts ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts Composites Industry Abstracts Copper Data Center Database Corrosion Abstracts CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX Engineered Materials Abstracts Engineered Materials Abstracts, Ceramics Materials Business File METADEX WELDASEARCH |
none | |
| Mathematics | some | |
| Index to U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies. | none | |
| Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services. Difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable (theses, technical reports, etc.) | full-text | |
OSTI Information Bridge (1995-) |
Search full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. Gray Literature | full-text |
| Citations to papers presented at congresses. Citations to proceedings, symposia, etc. |
none | |
| Links to U.S. and International Patent databases | some |
|
| Index of popular general interest periodicals, including titles such as Aviation Week, Science and Scientific American; Subjects covered include Aeronautics, Environment, Science and Technology. | none |
|
| Chemical Abstracts. Chemistry and chemical engineering. | none | |
| Scitopia | Scitopia.org searches the entire electronic libraries of 15 science and technology societies consisting of more than three million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content and technical conference papers, spanning 150 years of science and technology are available. |
some |
| Scopus | All science; Abstract and citation database which searches 14,200 titles from 4,000 different publishers. | none |
| SPIE Proceedings | Search publications of SPIE | none |
| SPIN indexes ASCE, ASME and AIP (physics) journals. | mostly full-text | |
| Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers: 14,200 titles from 4,000 different publishers; Over 12,850 academic journals including coverage of 535 Open Access journals; 750 conference proceedings; 600 trade publications; 27 million abstracts; 230 million references, added to all abstracts; Results from 200 million scientific web pages; 12.7 million patent records from 4 patent offices. Alerts to keep you up-to-date on new articles matching your search query, or by favorite author. | ||
| Find articles, key websites, books, the latest industry news, job announcements, ejournals, eprints, technical reports, the latest research and more! |
some | |
| Toxicology database from the National Library of Medicine. Includes databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. | none | |
| Department of Transportation | ||
Transportation Research Record
|
A full compilation of papers since the 1996 series of the Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board (TRR Journal) is accessible electronically. TRB's journal contains technical papers prepared by researchers that are peer-reviewed by TRB committee members. Included are selected papers from the TRB Annual Meetings. | full-text |
| Technology Research Database. (1962 - current) Comprehensive database provides access to the CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database. Sources covered include over 4,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade literature, patents, books, and press releases. | none | |
| Water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources | none |