Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Locate Articles on Engineering Topics

core databaseCore Databases
Databases/E-Journals
Description
Full-text?
core databaseACM Digital Library Computer science, computer engineering full-text
AIAA Electronic Library The AIAA electronic library contains more than four decades of technical aerospace information and documents. some full-text
Applied Science & Engineering Applied Science and Engineering Open Access Journals. The Open Access Digital Library provides free access to 76 databases and almost 4,000 full text, scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a variety of subjects from medicine to engineering. full-text
core databaseASCE Research Library
Comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides access to more than 18,500 full-text papers from ASCE Journals (1995- ) and Proceedings (1998- ) published. full-text
ASCE CE Database Index to ASCE publications (1980- ). No link to full-text in the ASCE Research Library. none
ASM Handbook Online Complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Does NOT include full-text for the Alloy Center. full-text
core databaseASME Digital Library

The ASME Digital Library includes: ASME's Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present, ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present, and ASME Press E-Books selected from 1999 to the present.

full-text

ASTM Standards

Standards for materials, products, systems, and services.  Covers subject areas such as steel, petroleum, medical devices, property management, consumer products, and many more full-text

CiteSeer/ResearchIndex

Web database for computer science. full-text

core databaseCompendex (Engineering Village)

Comprehensive core engineering database using the Engineering Village platform back to 1970.

none

Directory of Published Proceedings

Directory of Published Proceedings Conferences, Papers - records

Dissertation Abstracts

All subjects. Guide to almost every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions.  (More Info)

none

Dissertations,
UM-Columbia

ProQuest's Current Research @ MU
Full-text of MU Dissertations from 1995 to the present
full-text
DOE Data Explorer (DDE) A tool to find scientific research data generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research, including computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia and scientific images.
DSpace Institutional Repostiories Search Search engine that searches across all repositories using the DSpace open source software

Ebrary

Over 2000 Engineering books
full-text

Energy Citations Database (1948-)

U.S. Department of Energy.  Citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Dept. of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC.

some
Energy Technology Data Exchange Database (ETDEWEB) EDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and much, much more. Explore the growing collection of over 3,418,000  bibliographic records and over 111,000  full text documents available at your fingertips. Additional records may also have links to help users find the full text. Since August 2003, ETDEWEB now includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database, which began in 1987 as well as historical information back to 1974 from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database.  

Environmental
Sciences & Pollution Management

This multidisciplinary database, provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications

none
EPA Database National Environmental Publications Information System. full-text
GEOBASE Indexes journals, books conference proceedings, and reports covering geography, geology and ecology. Coverage is 1980 to date.  none

GeoRef

American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 2.2 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.  none

GeoScience World

A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked and inter-operable with GeoRef.

full-text

GreenFILE Free database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles. none
core databaseIEEE Xplore IEEE and IEE journals, standards and proceedings
Computer science and engineering, Electrical and electronics engineering
full-text

INIS (IAEA)

INIS (International Nuclear Information System) Database. IAEA INIS is operated by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in collaboration with its Member States and co-operating international organizations. Peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology
full-text
Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology

Offers links to thousands of physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science web sites, each selected and evaluated by subject specialists for quality and relevance. Search by keyword or phrase, or browse by subject area.

Mixed

Jahrbuch Database

Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics. Provides a digital archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period1868-1942 (based on the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik") none

JSTOR

*General Science (journal list)
*Management/OR journals (journal list)
Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. It includes graphs, photographs and images

full-text
Knovel Books Chemistry and Chemical Engineering books (185 titles) full-text

Materials Science  

Materials Sciences: Advanced Polymers Abstracts; Aerospace & High Technology Database; Aluminium Industry Abstracts; ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering; Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Copper Data Center Database; Corrosion Abstracts; CSA Materials Research Database; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Materials Business File; Metadex; Weldasearch. none

MathSciNet

Mathematics some
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts CSA Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. This database provides in depth, comprehensive coverage of the international engineering literature with the monitoring of over 2,600 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
NIST Virtual Library Source for digitized National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), formerly the National Bureau of Standards (NBS), technical reports. Includes links to digitized collections of NIST Interagency Reports (IRs), Handbooks (HBs), Special Publications (SPs), and Technical Notes (TNs). some

NTIS Database

Index to U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies. none

OAIster

Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.  Difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable (theses, technical reports, etc.) full-text

OSTI Information Bridge (1991-)

Search full-text of Department of Energy (DOE) research in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. full-text

Papers First

Proceedings First

Citations to papers presented at congresses.
Citations to proceedings, symposia, etc.
none

PATENTS

Links to U.S. and International Patent databases

some

Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Index of popular general interest periodicals, including titles such as Aviation Week, Science and Scientific American; Subjects covered include Aeronautics, Environment, Science and Technology.

none

ScienceAccelerator Searches science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Science Accelerator was developed and is made available by OSTI as a free public service. some

SciFinder Scholar 

Chemical Abstracts. Chemistry and chemical engineering. none
Scitopia

Scitopia.org searches the entire electronic libraries of 15 science and technology societies consisting of more than three million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content and technical conference papers, spanning 150 years of science and technology are available.

some
SPIE Proceedings Search publications of SPIE none
core databaseScitation/SPIN Web SPIN indexes ASCE, ASME and AIP (physics) journals. mostly full-text
core databaseScopus All science; Abstract and citation database which searches 14,200 titles from 4,000 different publishers.

TechXtra

Find articles, key websites, books, the latest industry news,
job announcements, ejournals, eprints, technical reports,
the latest research and more!
some

Toxnet

Toxicology database from the National Library of Medicine. Includes databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. none

Transportation Research Info Service  (TRIS)

Department of Transportation

Transportation Research Record

A full compilation of papers since the 1996 series of the Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board (TRR Journal) is accessible electronically. TRB's journal contains technical papers prepared by researchers that are peer-reviewed by TRB committee members. Included are selected papers from the TRB Annual Meetings. full-text

TRD: Technology Research Database

Technology Research Database.  (1962 - current)  Comprehensive database provides access to the CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.  Sources covered include over 4,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade literature, patents, books, and press releases. none

Water Resources Abstracts

Water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources none
   

Science and Technology Databases

U.S. Technical Report Databases

Government information resources

International Databases

Purchase articles