Academic Search Premiere - provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
America History & Life - contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Art & Humanities Citation Index - subset of Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals.
Art Index - contains citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography.
ArticleFirst - is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 12,500 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date.
Bibliography of the History of Art - covers the current literature of European art from the 4th century to the present, and of North and South American art from the European discovery of the Americas to the present. Includes photography.
Communication Abstracts - Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. It covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. CA has recently expanded its coverage to include international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
Communication and Mass Media Complete - Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. It indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. Full-text is available for over 200 titles.Communication Studies: Sage full text collection - Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles.
Current Contents - provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of leading scholarly research journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Current Research - indexes MU dissertation from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. For more details, see http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/MuchowM/Information_Commons/dissertations.html
MU Graduate School Electronic Thesis/Dissertations archives for Journalism
Dissertation Abstracts - is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
ECO - Electronic Collections Online - contains the original content and images from scholarly journals. Fulltext (primarily archival) access is available for over 200 journals to which the MU library also subscribe in print format.
Education Full Text - provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index.
Eric - provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Ingenta - Full-text of over 600 journals.
JStor - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
Masterfile Premiere - Provides searchable full-text for over 1100 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals.
Networked Digital Library of Thesis/Dissertations - The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. Some theses and dissertations are freely available to download from this service.
Oxford Reference Online Premium - Searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.
Pais - Covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
Project Muse - provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
PsychArticles - is a database of over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers. The journals cover psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Coverage is 1985 to date.
PsychInfo - contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
ScienceDirect - provides electronic access to the latest 12 months of Elsevier journals to which the MU Libraries also subscribe to in print.
Scopus trial - Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers: 14,200 titles from 4,000 different publishers Over 12,850 academic journals including coverage of 535 Open Access journals 750 conference proceedings 600 trade publications
27 million abstracts 230 million references, added to all abstracts Results from 200 million scientific web pages 12.7 million patent records from 4 patent offices Alerts to keep you up-to-date on new articles matching your search query, or by favorite author. Trial ends October 2006.
Social Sciences Citation Index - is a multi-disciplinary database indexing every item from 1,725 journals plus selected social science articles from 3,300 additional journals worldwide.
Wiley Interscience - provides table of contents and full-text access to over 250 electronic journals from John Wiley and sons.
WorldCat - is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 41 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
Newspapers
Alternative Press Index - indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Columbia Daily Tribune Archives - Fulltext archives of the Columbia Daily Tribune from January 1993 to present.
Factiva - Formerly Dow Jones Interactive - Business Newstand, Publications Library, Webcenter, custom clips, historical market data center.
LexisNexis Academic - Current news, business, corporate news and ethnic news.
MerlinOne - The archives of the Columbia Missourian print edition are available from February, 2002. You will need to ask the Journalism library staff or the Missourian Newspaper library for the username and password.
Missouri Historical Newspapers - Includes the fulltext of the Columbia Missourian for the years 1929, 1966 -1985.Newsbank - Indexes the Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, as well as news articles about regional and state events and issues. more info...
Newspaper Source - Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers - With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Trial ends December 29, 2006.
PressDisplay - Over 200 newspapers...More than 50 countries...Original format, layout and pagination...(Only available in the J-School buildings)
ProQuest - ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Wall Street Journal and New York Times
Times Digital Archive - Searchable complete digital edition of The Times (London), using
keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and
illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Trial ends December 29, 2006.
Advertising, Business info and Market info
ABI/Inform - is the primary index to over 1,000 business journals. Includes access to ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Dateline and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.
Academic Search Premier - provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - (subset of Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals.
Business & Company Resource - Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Premiere - Provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Communication Abstracts - Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. It covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. CA has recently expanded its coverage to include international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
Communication and Mass Media Complete - Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. It indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. Full-text is available for over 200 titles.
Consumer Index - provides access to information about evaluations, tests, alerts, warnings, and recalls of specific products, services, and facilities. Provides abstracts of articles on all aspects of consumerism and consumer protection.
Current Index to Statistics - is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.
Disclosure - includes information on over 12,500 international companies trading on U.S. exchanges. Quarterly and annual financial data are gathered from documents filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission as well as company annual reports.
EconLit - provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. Coverage is 1969 to date.
ERIC - provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
Factiva - contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
Hospitality and Tourism Index - covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 440,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1960s. Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
Ingenta - Full-text of over 600 journals.
JSTOR - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
Kluwer Online - Electronic access to over 600 journals from Kluwer
Lexis Nexis Academic - offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
MasterFile Premier - Provides searchable full-text for over 1100 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals.
MediaMark Reporter - Mediamark Reporter provides sample market research data. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library.
Project Muse - provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
PsycARTICLES - is a database of over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers. The journals cover psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Coverage is 1985 to date.
PsycINFO - contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
Regional Business News - provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Evaluate it!
STAT-USA - is a comprehensive source of economic, business and international trade information. Access only available within Ellis Library.
Wiley Interscience - provides table of contents and full-text access to over 250 electronic journals from John Wiley and sons.
A & H Search - is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
Academic Search Premier - provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
America History and Life - contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Art Index - contains citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - (subset of Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals.
Associated Press Multimedia Archive - Provides access to photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning 160 years of history.
Avery Index - indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930's to date.
Communication Abstracts - Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. It covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. CA has recently expanded its coverage to include international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
Communication and Mass Media Complete - Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. It indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. Full-text is available for over 200 titles.
Communication Studies: Sage full text collection - Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles.
Current Contents - provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of leading scholarly research journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Current Research@MU - indexes MU dissertation from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. For more details, see http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/MuchowM/Information_Commons/dissertations.html. more info...
Dissertation Abstracts - is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
Duke University's Digital Documentary Photography Collection - Among the collections that have been partially digitized or digitized in connection with an exhibition are the following: William Gedney, Alex Harris, Mel Rosenthal, James Karales, "The Urban Landscape" Digital Image Access Project,
Duke University's Digital Exhibits - includes Carl Mydans, R.C. Maxwell Company Collection, Steven Smith, William Gedney, Lynn Saville, and James Karales.ECO: Electronic Collections Online - contains the original content and images from scholarly journals. Fulltext (primarily archival) access is available for over 200 journals to which the MU library also subscribe in print format.
Education Full Text - provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index.
ERIC - provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
Factiva - contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
FIAF - indexes the film and television literature from 300 periodicals.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
GenderWatch - is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women issues.
Historical Abstracts - World history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada. Historical Abstracts indexes over 1800 scholarly journals.
Ingenta - Full-text of over 600 journals.
JSTOR - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
Lexis Nexis Academic - offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
MasterFile Premier - Provides searchable full-text for over 1100 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals.
New York Public Library Digital collection - The NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
PAIS - Covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
Project Muse - provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
PsycINFO - contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index - is a multi-disciplinary database indexing every item from 1,725 journals plus selected social science articles from 3,300 additional journals worldwide.
Sociological Abstracts - CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Politics, Polls & Stats
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online - Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video. Access provided by the MU School of Law Library.
CQ Public Affairs Collection - brings together Congressional Quarterly’s extensive and authoritative current affairs publications into a single integrated reference tool. Features full-text access to descriptive articles, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
CQ Researcher - is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s.
Current Index to Statistics - is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.
Declassified Documents Reference System - Full-text access to declassified U.S. government documents from the years immediately following World War II. These documents are also available on microfiche in the Government Documents Department, Ellis Library.
Digital National Security Archive - The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
EIU Country Profiles - provides background information on the economic and political situations of over 75 countries.
EIU Country Reports - analyses political and economic trends in over 75 countries. Each report examines and explains the issues shaping the countries: the political scene, economic policy, the domestic economy and foreign trade and payments.
FedStats - FedStats is a comprehensive web portal to statistics published by the U.S. Government. More than 70 federal agencies produce statistics. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site as a single point of access to the full range of these official statistical resources. Includes subject and geographic indexes, mapping tools, a cross-agency search engine, and direct links to statistical agencies and data access tools.
Government of Canada Publications - Government of Canada Publications is the principle database for finding publications of the Canadian federal government. Includes links to full-text when available.
Government Periodicals Universe - is the index to articles published in approximately 170 magazines and newsletters published by the U.S. government.
GPO Access - GPO Access is the single most comprehensive source for official publications from all three branches of the U.S. government, as well as independent agencies. Provides access to a broad array of full-text databases and finding aids.
Homeland Security Digital Library - The Homeland Security Digital Library collection provides access to homeland security strategy, policy and research published by Federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, universities, and think tanks. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy.
iPOLL - Nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics.
JSTOR - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
LegalTrac - provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
Lexis Nexis Academic - offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
Lexis Nexis Congressional - A comprehensive collection of information by and about the United States Congress. It includes access to bills, laws, regulations and congressional publications.
Lexis Nexis Statistical - A comprehensive finding aid for statistical data on a wide variety of topics.
Marcive Web DOCS - An index to documents published by the U.S. Government. Includes documents published by the legislative and executive branches, with limited coverage of judicial branch documents.
PAIS - Covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.